About the CMA® Program

  • The Certified Management Accountant (CMA®) credential is the advanced professional certification provided by Institute of Management Accountant’s, USA.
  • It demonstrates your command of the critical accounting and financial management skills demanded by today’s dynamic businesses, translating into significant career opportunities for you.
  • The first CMA® exam was offered in 1972, and the program is celebrating 43 years as the Gold standard certification for accountants and financial professionals in business.

Benefits of the Program

  • CMA®’s get paid more – IMA MIDDLE EAST SALARY SURVEY 2012 50% more in salary and 41% more in total compensation than non-CMA®s.
  • Exam Exemptions − All exams of the ICWAI (Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India), Three exams from the ACCA (Association of Chartered Certified Accountants): F1, F2 and F3
  • Career Enhancement – A CMA® has the opportunity to move to different Job Functions, OR get promoted a higher status, OR jump between Markets & Industries.
  • Networking – A lifelong platform to the world’s most prominent management accountants, expanding opportunities within the world of accounting and finance.
  • Leadership Skills – Completing the rigorous requirements for the designation represents commitment to professional excellence, significant to the profession, positioning you as a leader in the accounting field.
  • Global Recognition – With CMA® candidates in over 100 countries, the designation’s acknowledgement, career and professional development has increased greatly over the years.

Course of Study

The CMA® exam is a two part program:

Part 1 – Fundamental tools and techniques used in management accounting and the theories that underlie their use. Specific areas of coverage and their weighting in the CMA® Exam Part I are:

PART 1 – Topic Areas Exam Weight
External Financial Reporting Decisions 15%
Planning, budgeting and Forecasting 30%
Performance Management 20%
Cost Management 20%
Internal Controls 15%

Part 2 – Application of the tools and techniques covered in Part I; deeper study into major areas of management accounting. Areas of coverage include:

PART 2 – Topic Areas Exam Weight
Financial Statement Analysis 25%
Corporate Finance 20%
Decision Analysis 20%
Risk Management 10%
Investment Decision 15%
Professional Ethics 10%

Examination Process and Testing Methods

  • Computer based exams.
  • Schedule your exam appointment and select your exam location with the Prometric test center
  • There are 3 exam windows to choose from: Jan-Feb / May-June / Sept-Oct
  • It is possible to attempt both parts (CMA® P1 and CMA® P2) in the same window.
  • If a candidate has failed an exam part, he/she must wait until the next exam window to re-attempt the exam.
  • Result are released after 6 weeks from the time the exam was taken.
Fees CMA® Part 1 & Part 2
IMA yearly membership Fee $220
One time registration $15
Exam entrance fee $240
Exam fee per part $415

*Please refer to IMA website http://www.imanet.org/ for changes/updates in exam and enrollment fees.

Exam Exam Descriptions
CMA® Part 1 (4 hours) 100 MCQ’s + 2 Essays
CMA® Part 2 (4 hours) 100 MCQ’s + 2 Essays

Eligibility to Take CMA® Exams

  • A candidate must be an IMA® member.
  • Complete Entrance & Exam Payments.
  • Receive authorization no., Instruction and Exam Support Package from IMA®.
  • Schedule an appointment, and location with the Prometric testing center.

Candidate does not need to hold any prior experience or educational qualification to sit for the CMA® exam

Exam Results

  • Are available 6 weeks post exam date.

Registering for the CMA® Exam

To register you must meet the exam eligibility requirements.
Log onto https://www.imanet.org/ to view course enrolment fees, locate a test center, create an account, or login and register for the examinations.

Steps to be Eligible for the CMA® Certification

Step 1: Become member of IMA – Complete membership payments
Step 2: Pay the Entrance fee and pass all the required examinations in the set time frames.
Step 3: Have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited university or ACCA certification.
Step 4: Satisfy the 2 year Experience Requirements
Step 5: Comply with the IMA’s® Ethical Professional Practice

Preparation for the CMA® Exams

Each part of the CMA® program requires 60 – 100 hours of study. However this number can vary depending on the candidates academic background and work experience.

This implies that the candidate must commence his/her preparation 2 to 3 months prior to the exam date.
Exam material undergoes some changes each academic year. Ensure you are studying the most current version of the material.
Successful completion of the CMA® examinations (two exam parts) is one of the necessary steps towards gaining the CMA® Certification and EDGE can help ease your way through this examination quotient.

EDGE education provides varied course structures for their CMA® Part 1 and CMA® Part 2 trainings. All sessions are instructor led, delivering material from the CMA® curriculum.